Board of Directors - FBD Group

Board of Directors


Liam Herlihy

Liam Herlihy was appointed Chairman in May 2017 and joined the Board in September 2015. Mr. Herlihy was, until May of 2015, Group Chairman of Glanbia plc, a leading Irish based performance nutrition and ingredients group, having served in that role for 7 years during which he presided over a period of significant structural change and unprecedented growth for Glanbia. Mr. Herlihy completed the Institute of Directors Development Programme and holds a certificate of merit in Corporate Governance from University College Dublin.

Group Chief Executive

Fiona Muldoon

Fiona Muldoon joined the Group in January 2015 as Group Finance Director Designate and was appointed as an executive Director and member of the Board. In October 2015, Ms. Muldoon was appointed as Group Chief Executive.

A Chartered Accountant, Ms. Muldoon was Director of Credit Institutions and Insurance Supervision at the Central Bank of Ireland from August 2011 until May 2014. Prior to this she was with XL Group for seventeen years and held a number of senior roles with this NYSE listed Property & Casualty Insurance firm in Ireland, London and Bermuda, including two years as Group Treasurer until July 2010. On 12 June 2015, Ms. Muldoon was appointed as a non-executive Director of the Governor and Company of the Bank of Ireland.

Chief Financial Officer

John O’Grady

John O’Grady is a Chartered Accountant and an experienced insurance executive. He joined FBD from Liberty Insurance Limited where he held the role of Finance Director. Prior to his role in Liberty, Mr. O’Grady worked for Aviva and its predecessor companies in Ireland in various roles between 1989 and 2013, including Finance Director, Claims Director and Operations Director. Mr. O'Grady is Executive Director of FBD Holdings and of FBD Insurance plc. Mr. O’Grady joined the Group and was appointed to the Board in July 2016.

Non-executive Director

Walter Bogaerts

Walter Bogaerts is the holder of a Masters Commercial Engineer Degree from the Economic University of Brussels. He worked for the KBC Insurance Group in Belgium for 34 years. He retired from a senior executive role in 2013 having served in a variety of roles during his career in underwriting, reinsurance, sales and general management. Between 2006 and 2012, Mr. Bogaerts was a member of the supervisory board of KBC’s central European insurance business. Mr. Bogaerts joined the Board in February 2016.

Non-executive Director

Mary Brennan

Mary Brennan is a Chartered Director and a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. In a career spanning over 30 years, Ms. Brennan has worked internationally in audit in a number of publicly listed companies, including Elan plc and Occidental Petroleum Corp. She is currently a non-executive Director of BNP Paribas Ireland where she also chairs the Audit Committee, and is an experienced non-executive Director of a number of life and non-life reinsurance companies. Ms. Brennan joined the Board in August 2016.

Non-executive Director

Dermot Browne

Dermot Browne was appointed as Senior Independent Director in May 2017. Mr. Browne is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from University College Galway. Between 2007 and 2011, Mr. Browne held a number of senior executive roles in Aviva Ireland, including the position of CEO with responsibility for all Aviva businesses in Ireland across general insurance, health insurance and life assurance. Prior to this he was a senior executive with Eagle Star Life Assurance Company of Ireland (now Zurich Life) over a sixteen year period with responsibility for finance, sales, marketing and information technology. Between 2012 and 2015 he rejoined Zurich Group in a Global Strategy role based in Switzerland. Mr. Browne joined the Board in July 2016.

Non-executive Director

Joe Healy

Mr Joe Healy was appointed to the Board in August 2017. Mr Healy runs a dairy and cattle farm in Athenry, Co Galway with his family. He was elected the 15th President of the Irish Farmers’ Association in April 2016. Prior to that, he represented Galway IFA on the IFA National Farm Business Committee. Previously, he was actively involved in the young farmers’ organisation Macra na Feirme and was elected President of that organisation from 1995-1997. Mr Healy represents Irish farmers at EU level on COPA, which is the official umbrella representative body for European farmers. He chairs the COPA Food Chain Working Group, which is seeking a stronger position for farmers in the food supply chain. He is a non-executive director of Bord Bia – the Irish Food Board – which is responsible for the marketing of Irish food and drink abroad.

Non-executive Director

Orlagh Hunt

Orlagh Hunt is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Development, is a human resources executive with extensive financial services experience in firms such as Allied Irish Banks plc, RSA Group and Axa Life Insurance, as well as with a number of FMCG and retail companies. Ms. Hunt joined the Board in August 2016.

Non-executive Director

David O'Connor

David O'Connor is a Fellow of both the Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries in Ireland. He commenced his career in New Ireland Assurance before joining Allianz Ireland in 1988 to set up its non-life actuarial function. He was a member of Allianz Executive Management Board and held a number of senior management positions there prior to joining Willis Towers Watson in 2003 to set up its Property and Casualty consultancy unit in Dublin. Mr. O'Connor joined the Board in July 2016.

Non-executive Director

Padraig Walshe

Padraig Walshe is Chairman of Farmer Business Developments plc, the Company’s largest shareholder. He is a past President of COPA, the European Farmers’ Organisation and of the Irish Farmers’ Association. Mr. Walshe previously served on the Board of FBD between 2006 and 2010, and rejoined the Board in 2011.